Laura Benanti
By Randy Gener

NEW YORK CITY |  Do you want to hand out with film and Broadway stars like Danny DeVito and Sally Field?  Have you been angling to get inside the New York theater awards season this year? You’re in luck.

There are 6 upcoming Broadway parties and awards ceremonies between now and June (when the Tony Awards take place) Practically all of them are open to the general public.

Here’s the key secret: Be sure to squat at the Marriott.

Why?  Based on the following calendar/guide, you might as well book a room for May at New York’s Marriott Marquis Hotel on Times Square. Why? Because practically ever damn awards ceremony ands theater party for Broadway’s spring 2017 season will take place there.

In many cases, tickets for these events are already on sale. Be sure to click that dates below, and these links will direct you straight to the appropriate group who are sponsoring or hosting or presenting (or all three) these events.

Enjoy! (We hope.)

And while you are partying out there: Toast In the Culture of One World with 2 glasses of champagne

Monday May 8
New York Marriott Marquis

Meet Danny DeVito and Sally Field at the May 8 gala of The Actors Fund, the national human services organization that helps everyone in performing arts and entertainment in times of need, crisis or transition.  The evening will celebrate DeVito and Field, as well as corporate leader Jo Ann Jenkins, CEO of AARP, and 21-time Tony Award®-winning theatrical director and producer Harold Prince.

DeVito, Field and Jenkins will be awarded The Actors Fund’s Medal of Honor. Prince will receive The Actors Fund’s Lifetime Achievement Award. The event begins with 6 pm cocktails followed by 7 pm dinner and tribute at the New York Marriott Marquis. The evening will include special tribute performances by guests to be announced.

What good excuse The Actors Fund came up with to hold this party? DeVito is currently starring in the Roundabout Theatre Company’s production of Arthur Miller’s The Price.  Field is currently starring on Broadway in Tennessee WilliamsThe Glass Menagerie. She was last seen on Broadway in 2002 starring in Edward Albee‘s The Goat, or Who Is Sylvia?

Harold Prince, as we all know, changed the nature of the American musical.  “Hal’s work as a theatrical artist is legendary,” said Brian Stokes Mitchell, Chairman of The Actors Fund. “His distinguished four decades of service behind-the-scenes as a trustee of The Actors Fund has quietly guided and supported this organization in helping thousands in need in performing arts and entertainment across the country.”

Tickets to the benefit begin at $1,500 and include reception, dinner and entertainment. For tables and sponsorships, call 212.627.1000 or email For more information and updates, visit

Marriott Marquis Hotel

New Dramatists will honor 10-time Tony Award®-winning producer Daryl Roth and Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Paula Vogel with their 2017 Distinguished Achievement Awards at its 68th Annual Spring Luncheon tribute. The event will be held Tuesday, May 16 at the New York Marriott Marquis.

“We are profoundly fortunate that these two outstanding theatre professionals have committed their careers to this art form,” says Emily Morse, Artistic Director of New Dramatists.

Daryl Roth, Broadway producer
Daryl Roth, Broadway producer

“We are grateful that their paths crossed somewhere around 1997, a fateful encounter that began a sustained and fruitful relationship between an influential American Playwright and a visionary new play Producer. Paula and Daryl both lead by example, and it is a tremendous honor to recognize them and their contributions to our field in the company of our vital and supportive New Dramatists community.”

Friday, May 19
Marriott Marquis Times Square


After an April 19 announcement of nominations for The Drama League Awards, there will be a star-filled party. The League (led by Executive Artistic Director Gabriel Stelian-Shanks) will honor two stage luminaries of Broadway.

Michael Greif
Michael Greif

The awards ceremony and luncheon includes a nominees cocktail reception, luncheon, and awards presentation and will be held at the Marriott Marquis Times Square in the Broadway Ballroom (1535 Broadway) on Friday, May 19, 2023 beginning at 11:30 a.m.

The 2017 recipients are: Bill Berloni will receive the Unique Contribution to the Theater Award; Tony® Award-nominee Michael Greif, represented this season on Broadway by Dear Evan Hansen and War Paint, will receive The Founders Award for Excellence in Directing. A third honoree for Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater will be announced shortly.

These special recognition honors are in addition to the five competitive categories. The 2017 Drama League Nominees for Outstanding Play, Outstanding Revival of a Play, Outstanding Musical, Outstanding Revival of a Musical, and the much-coveted Distinguished Performance Award will be announced on Wednesday, April 19, 2023 at 11:00 a.m. at Sardi’s (234 West 44th Street).

For more information about the Drama League Awards, please call (212) 244-9494 or visit

Marriott Marquis Hotel


A private event. No tickets being sold to the public. Get in anyway — if you can. Audience Choice Awards will be presented at a private reception on Thursday, May 25, 2017. Each year, the excitement of the Broadway season culminates at this consistently star-studded ceremony. In recent years, the ceremony has featured award winners Kristin Chenoweth, Darren Criss, Helen Mirren, John Gallagher, Jr., Megan Hilty and the entire HAMILTON principal cast, including Lin-Manuel Miranda.

The Audience Choice Award is the only major theatrical prize awarded solely by votes cast online by audience members. Awards are presented in traditional categories as well as several unique to the Audience Choice Awards, including “Favorite Diva Performance,” “Favorite Breakthrough Performance” and “Favorite Onstage Pair.” In addition, an award is presented for national tours to encourage the participation of Broadway fans not only in New York but across the country. All awards are decided solely by the voting of theater fans on is a subsidiary of The John Gore Organization (JGO). JGO is a leading developer, producer, distributor and marketer of Broadway theatre worldwide. For more information,

The Town Hall


This year’s Drama Desk Awards, hosted by Michael Urie, will be held at The Town Hall (123 W. 43rd Street) on Sunday, June 4th.   Tickets are available to the general public at

Laura Benanti (GYPSY and SHE LOVES ME) and Javier Muñoz (HAMILTON and IN THE HEIGHTS) will have announced the nominations for the 62nd Drama Desk Awards on Thursday, April 27, 2023 at 10:00 AM at Feinstein’s/54 Below (254 W. 54th Street).
The Drama Desk Awards, which are presented annually, honor outstanding achievement by professional theater artists on Broadway, Off-Broadway and Off-Off Broadway. What sets the Drama Desk Awards apart is that they are voted on and bestowed by theater critics, journalists, editors, publishers, and broadcasters covering theater.

For the sixth consecutive year, TheaterMania will present the awards ceremony and Joey Parnes Productions will produce and manage the show. Gretchen Shugart is the managing executive Producer of the Drama Desk Awards. The Awards show will be written by Bill Rosenfield and directed by Mark Waldrop (BEA ARTHUR ON BROADWAY).

About Admin is a NYC-based production, event and media project devoted to U.S. news, foreign diplomacy, cultural issues, innovative art projects and journalism in the public interest. Learn more about the proprietor at

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.