DEADLINES | Early career African-American artists invited to apply to $25,000 William H. Johnson Prize

The Johnson Prize is awarded annually to an early career African-American artist working in the areas of painting, photography, sculpture, printmaking, installation, and/or new genres. The 2012 prize winner was Clifford Owens. Deborah Grant won in 2011. Karyn Olivier won in 2010. Sanford Biggers won in 2009. Read More


ON BLACK HISTORY MONTH | National Black Touring Circuit bucks trends, hosts Black History Month Play Festival

National Black Touring Circuit presents the Black History Month Play Festival 2013 from February 8 – 24. New York City play festival honors African American men who changed America: Frederick Douglass, W.E.B. DuBois and Adam Clayton Powell
Read More