NEW YORK CITY: — George C. Wolfe will be awarded the 2011 “Mr. Abbott” Award for “his incredible breadth and depth of work in the American theatre,” according to a prepared statement from the Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation.

The “Mr. Abbott” Award is named in honor of renowned director George Abbott and is one of the only awards given to theatre directors and choreographers by their peers. This honor is presented to a director or choreographer in recognition of lifetime achievement. Past honorees have included Hal Prince, Susan Stroman, Lloyd Richards, Kathleen and Rob Marshall, Tommy Tune, and Michael Bennett.

Portrait of George C. Wolfe

Wolfe’s incredibly distinguished career in the theatre has significantly impacted the theatrical community and the world at large. His varied and impressive directing credits for the theatre include Jelly’s Last Jam (Drama Desk and Outer Critics Awards), Angels In America - Millennium Approaches (Tony and Drama Desk Awards) and Perestroika (Drama Desk Award), Bring In ‘Da Noise, Bring In ‘Da Funk (Tony and Drama League Awards), Topdog/ Underdog (Obie Award), Twilight: Los Angeles, 1992 (Drama Desk Award), Elaine Stritch: At Liberty (Tony Award-Unique Theatrical Event), The Tempest, The Wild Party, Caroline, or Change, A Free Man of Color and The Normal Heart (Drama Desk Award).

Wolfe will be presented the Abbott Award at a gala tribute event at the Edison Ballroom 240 West 47th Street, on Monday, October 3rd.  Festivities begin with a VIP cocktail reception at 6pm followed by the talent tribute at 7pm.  The evening will conclude with a dessert and cocktail reception.

The tribute is written by John Guare and directed by Jack O’Brien.  The music director is Jeanine Tesori, and the choreography is by Hope Clarke.  It will feature those who have worked with George over the years including, Bobby Cannavale, Ann Duquesnay, John Benjamin Hickey, Joe Mantello, Tonya Pinkins, Ruben Santiago-Hudson and Charlayne Woodard, among others.

Tickets are available at or by calling 212-626-2745.  Tickets are $175 for tribute and desserts and $350 with VIP cocktail reception included.

Upon receiving notification of this honor Wolfe said, “I am truly proud to be this year’s recipient of the ‘Mr. Abbott’ Award and overjoyed to have my name added to the astonishing list of past honorees.”

Broadway revival of "The Normal Heart" staged by George C. Wolfe
Broadway revival of "The Normal Heart" staged by George C. Wolfe

One thought on ““Mr. Abbott Award” goes to George C. Wolfe

Leave a Reply